Choose-Day Tuesday: MAC vs Laura Mercier

Today I will be addressing not one, but two highly respected concealers. The match-up consists of two well-known, high end brands whose concealers are some of their leading selling products!

In the right corner is the competitor who can lighten up the darkest of situations. He goes on thick, has the endurance to last all day long, and will never quit! Ladies and gentleman, MAC Pro Longwear Concealer!!
Image

In the left corner we have the competitor who can make the worst of nightmares DISAPPEAR. She’s light on her feet, you won’t even know she’s there. But don’t be fooled, she gets the job done every, single, time. Today’s competitor, Laura Mercier’s Secret Camouflage!!
Image
(Can you tell I have fun pretending they are legitimately fighting?)

ADDRESS: Mac Pro Longwear Concealer
$21.00 CDN
9ml/0.30 US fl oz. 

ASSESS: This concealer comes in a large variety of shades, accommodating any skin tone. Known for it’s ability to last, I can put it on in the morning and it is still doing its amazing work late at night. Smelling like paint, you know this stuff is going to go on thick! A little bit goes a long way, and I find it looks more natural to put on a very thin layer, and then go over the area again to really do the trick.

I tend to use this concealer more for covering redness, blemishes and actually doubling it as a highlighter for some areas. While I have used it before for underneath the eyes since it is amazing for not creasing, unfortunately I do still think my dark circles come through. That being said, the other areas I put it on and it lasts. All day. Through thick and thin, this stuff does not budge!! I know when I need something covered, I can trust my pro longwear.

My “ughhh” moment comes with the packaging. As mentioned above, you only need a TINY bit of this stuff for it to work amazingly. The product comes in a glass bottle (don’t like) with a pump (don’t like). It is extremely hard to pump out the true amount of product you need, it delivers SO much. I hate wasting, and you are wasting half of the product that comes out every time you use it!!

If you are able to master the pump, this product will last you a million years and is definitely worth the purchase.

ADDRESS: Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage 
$38.00 CDN
0.26 US fl oz.

ASSESS: This product comes with both a proper concealer and a highlighter. It only comes in eight different shades, however thankfully SC-2 is perfect for my skin tone. The concealer is orange based, which is perfect for cancelling out the purple/blues. Before this, I had yet to find a concealer that could truly mask my dark circles beneath the eyes, it is a miracle worker! It also does an awesome job covering up any redness. When travelling, this is my go-to since I know it will cover everything I need for every day.

The highlighter is actually pretty drying, I don’t even bother trying with a brush it simply will not work. The only way to get some payoff is to warm it up with your finger first, which is pretty annoying.

However, it is the concealer I am focusing on here, and it the concealer that is absolutely magnificent. It’s thick formula is extremely pigmented and covers up absolutely everything. With drying skin like mine, it is a huge plus when I have no creasing and I can put this on anywhere, for any amount of time and I can trust it will do the job right with no irritation.

VERDICT: This was a tough battle. I just want to start off by saying these are my top 2 concealers, of all time. They both last all day, and truly do an awesome job of concealing! That being said, the winner is…..Laura Mercier. If I am going for a natural day, this could be all that I wear and no one the wiser. If I am going out for the night, I need it to hide all the perfections and give me the confidence I need to feel great! Laura Mercier edged out her competitor with truly covering those dark circles, and being perfect even for us with sensitive skin.

6 thoughts on “Choose-Day Tuesday: MAC vs Laura Mercier

  1. I totally agree, I treated my myself to that very same MAC concealer in January and it’s amazing! My only issue, which is apparently everyone’s issue is the very same pump problem. A little bit goes such a long way and the pump gives you almost a bit too much’ I usually just use the excess to clean up my brows. My container fell off the counter and broke in February and I had to hurriedly just transfer it to little jars 🙂 Luckily I hadn’t used much and pretty much got to save all the product! Great post Heather!

    • Oh yikes, I’ve dropped it before and I was so scared it was going to shatter, the very reason I dislike it is in a glass bottle!

      My problem is because I hate wasting the product I try to find anywhere else I can put it on and definitely put on way too much and no longer get the look I want haha.

      Thanks for reading and commenting! 🙂

  2. My solution for the MAC pump problem is to use a contact lens case. I pump the concealer into it and use what I need, and then seal it up for next time. I hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

