This is Where I Draw The Line: Eyeliner Review

Eyeliner is one of my absolute must-haves, if not THE product I need every single day. Eyeliner can waken the entire face, and either enhance your eye look dramatically, or just enough that your face doesn’t look washed out. At all times I am testing out new liners to see what works best for me. Today I am going to do a review on the ones I have been using lately!
Image
Eyeliners on Trial:

Pencil Eyeliners

  • Revlon ColorStay
  • Stila
  • Urban Decay 24/7 Glideon Pencil
  • Almay eyeliner/crayon

Liquid Eyeliners

  • Sephora Glitter Black
  • Revlon ColorStay Blackest Black
  • Eyeko London Black
  • Stila Intense Black
  • L’Oreal Paris Carbon Black Intense

IMG_4546
Please click on this image to view larger. From left to right: Revlon, Stila, Urban Decay 24/7 in Perversion, Urban Decay 24/7 in Demolition, Almay, Sephora Glitter Black, Revlon Liquid, Eyeko, Stila Liquid, L’Oreal


Revlon ColourStay Pencil Eyeliner: 5/10

Price: $9.99
Colour/Pigmentation: When first applied I feel the colour payoff is great, however smudges very easily. I won’t have even left the house before I can see it already looking a bit messy.
Staying power: I use this on my waterline and it is almost completely gone after the first couple of hours of wear.
Application: Liner glides on smoothly, and I enjoy that the product can be rolled up so there is no need for a sharpener.

Stila Smudge Stick Waterproof Liner: 8/10
Price: $26.00
Colour/Pigmentation: Amazing pigmentation, I personally have it in Stingray which is the ideal deep black, perfect for a night out or defining the eyes during the day.
Staying power: the longevity of this product is pretty good, definitely noticed some fading after coming home from a long day, but still holding on. Which is impressive since my waterline eats everything up!
Application: I think eyeliner swatches are hard to judge…but the above picture further impressed me about this product. You can SEE how smoothly this product glides on.

Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Double Ended Eye Pencil 8.5/10
Price: $19.00
Colour/Pigmentation: I have this product in Demolition (a dark brown) and Perversion (black) and enjoy this product during the day for the waterline and tightlining. I have to say I love tight lining with Demolition, it really does give the illusion of thicker lashes and does not look harsh.
Staying power: Demolition — awesome. Perversion — alright.
Application: Not quite Stila eyeliner standards, but this product also applies quite smoothly. I would actually say the formula is so soft, it can be a bit smudgy.

Almay 3.5/10
Price: $7.29
Colour Pigmentation: This colour is so dry so it takes quite a few tries to actually show up. The brown does not show up very well.
Staying power. What little does manage to come on during application, is completely gone within the hour.
Application: The packaging is simple and effective, a twist-up bottom makes application easy, and the pencil is very thin which is great for precision, but who cares about that when the product doesn’t even show up?

Sephora Glitter Black 9/10
Price: $15.00
Colour/Pigmentation: The colour payoff is what I love about this the most. I dark black with a tiny bit of shimmer, very unique and great to add that extra touch to your look on a night out!
Staying power: I have only worn this out at night, but it has lasted me easily up to 6 hours.
Application: The brush is very small, making creating that perfect winged line or a bold dramatic stroke. Goes on smooth, I love this!

Revlon Colorstay Liquid Eyeliner 9.8/10
Price: $10.99
Colour/Pigmentation: My all time favourite eyeliner. Colour payoff is amazing whether you do a thin precise line or a bold, dramatic stroke. No feathering, smudges or running.
Staying power: Stays until I take it off. The only reason for the 0.5 is if I happen to cry…things do get messy.  But stay happy, and stay pretty with your eyeliner!
Application: Great small brush for precision, I feel like a little bottle can last me quite a while. Takes a minute to dry but once it does, its so worth it!!

Eyeko 3/10
Price: $19.00
Colour/Pigmentation: This product is very dry so the colour payoff is not so great. The first couple of times I tried it I could get about halfway through an eyelid before it dried out. But you can see even from the swatch above, it is completely dried out!
Staying power: I have never successfully worn this so I couldn’t say! What a waste.
Application: I think the packaging is pretty great, the tip is super thin which could make a great winged liner, but because you feel like you have to keep re-lining forget it.

Stila Intense Black Liquid Liner 9.5/10
Price: $26.00
Colour/Pigmentation: This is an intense black, which is what I love in an eyeliner. The payoff is amazing!
Staying power: I can apply this in the morning when I wake up, and it hasn’t budged by the time I take it off before bed at night. Awesome stuff.
Application: This quick-dry liner is so thin that it can make an amazing thin precise line or a bold stroke.

L’Oreal Paris Carbon Black Intense 9.5/10
Price: $7.97
Colour/Pigmentation: This is my newest liner, and I am extremely impressed. The colour payoff wonderful, no fading or smudging whatsoever. It is a nice dark deep black.
Staying power: Stays all day long, a friend with oily lids even says she has no problem with it disappearing.
Application: The felt tip is so precise, I find it very easy to create the exact look I want. I do feel it works best if you dip back into the pot a couple of times through creating your look, but otherwise am so on board for this product.

3 thoughts on “This is Where I Draw The Line: Eyeliner Review

Leave a Reply

